Prevent Child Abuse Arizona Board of Directors

Every nonprofit agency with a critical mission exists because a number of talented and committed volunteers serve as members of the board of directors.



Apply to Join Our Board of Directors

We are looking for dedicated, knowledgeable and passionate people to help set the direction of our work and support the achievement of our mission.


Our Board of Directors includes:

Laura Karnitschnig, DNP, RN, CPNP – President

Dr. Laura Karnitschnig is a certified pediatric nurse practitioner who received her Doctor of Nursing Practice in 2015 from Northern Arizona University (NAU).  She earned her master’s in Nursing, PNP, in 2003 from Oregon Health Sciences University and her Bachelor of Science, with a minor in psychology, in 1997 from Salisbury University in Maryland. Laura’s doctoral project focused on prevention of child maltreatment through routine intimate partner violence (IPV) screening of adults.  Doctoral work also entailed investigating barriers to IPV screening in the emergency department setting, providing education to nurses on IPV impacts, and training nurses on how to respond to positive and negative patient screenings. Laura has practiced nursing in a variety of clinical settings, including neonatal intensive care and pediatrics.  She is currently an Assistant Professor at NAU School of Nursing.

Roy Teramoto, MD – Treasurer

Roy Teramoto is a board-certified pediatrician who has worked for the Indian Health Service for more than 34 years.  During his career, he served on the Child Protection Teams of the Phoenix Indian Medical Center and the Phoenix Area Office.  He has also previously served on the Arizona Child Fatality Committee.  He is currently a member of the Triple P Arizona Community Advisory Committee.

Cara Kelly – Secretary

As a child welfare professional, Cara has dedicated her career to improving outcomes for children and families in the child welfare system through evidence building, policy innovation, and workforce development. Cara received her PhD in social work at Arizona State University, and has expertise in quantitative and qualitative methodology, public policy, child welfare administration, program evaluation, social work education, and clinical social work practice. Cara’s primary research interests include child maltreatment prevention and intervention, child welfare risk and safety assessments, child well-being, and outcome measurements for child and family services. Cara currently studies risk assessment across child welfare domains, with a specific focus on the application of epidemiological methods to improve the surveillance of child abuse and neglect.

Rick Griffin – Board Member

Rick Griffin is the Director of Training and Curriculum Development with Community Resilience Initiative (CRI), a nonprofit organization dedicated to creating a citizenry conversant in trauma and resilience. Rick has committed his life to the education of others. After completing his master’s degree in education, Rick became a founding member and executive director of Jubilee Leadership Academy, a therapeutic boarding school for struggling teens. Under Rick’s leadership, Jubilee was World Magazine’s 2014 winner of the Hope Award for Effective Compassion.

Rick enjoys speaking to thousands of individuals from around the globe and is widely recognized for his work in trauma-informed care. Rick’s vision to educate the masses about the impact of trauma inspired him to establish a national trauma and resilience conference that is held annually in Washington state. He is currently working on his latest passion, Purpose Driven Play, a series of games designed to equip individuals with the skills to overcome adversity. Amid all this, Rick still finds the time for his highest priorities: his faith, his family, and his friends.

Darin Hood – Board Member

Darin Hood is a registered representative and financial advisor with Principal Securities Inc. Prior to a career in financial services, he was a Phoenix Police Officer for 23 years, including 10 years as a sergeant. He received his Bachelors of Science in Administration of Justice from Arizona State University and a Master’s of Science in Human Movement from A.T. Still University. Darin has worked with Prevent Child Abuse Arizona on its Never Shake a Baby/Abusive Head Trauma advisory committee since 2010. During that time, he coordinated the production of a public service announcement and new parent training video to reduce infant and toddler injuries and deaths due to shaking.

Stacy Reinstein – Board Member

Stacy is the Deputy Child Care Administrator with the Department of Economic Security, partnering with community members, families, childcare providers, educators, and state and local partners to improve the quality of early learning and childcare across the state. Stacy has two decades of experience working in health and human services, focused on mental health and the justice system, child welfare and juvenile justice. Born and raised in Arizona, Stacy is a Flinn-Brown Civic Leadership Academy Fellow, and holds a Master of Public Policy degree from the University of Chicago, and a bachelor’s degree from Syracuse University.

April Rhodes – Board Member

April is the Chief Executive Officer of Spectrum Healthcare. She attended Arizona State University and received a Bachelor of Science in Family and Human Development in 2009 and a Master of Advanced Studies in Marriage and Family Therapy in 2012, with a strong focus on systemic theories and practices. April worked as a Child and Family Therapist at Arizona Children’s Association in its outpatient clinic as a mobile therapist, and in its family preservation program that is contracted with the Department of Child Safety, prior to which she was the director for major childcare facilities in Phoenix and an area supervisor of phlebotomy for Labcorp. She began as a Child and Family Therapist at Spectrum Healthcare Group in January 2013; began supervising the mobile staff in April 2013; and in September 2013, she was promoted to Children’s Program Supervisor, where she remained until 2014, at which time she began  serving as Spectrum’s Deputy Director until assuming the role of Chief Executive Officer in 2015.